PDA

View Full Version : Did i mess up my Yanagiba? Complete Newbie/Amateur seeking advice

Plepis
07-13-2013, 11:06 AM
Hello!

I've been lurking around the forums for about maybe two weeks now?

Anyways, greetings, i'm Erick and i'm hailing you all from Brazil, so bear with any bad ingrish :laugh:

First a lil background:

Since sushi is a favorite dish of the SO, I recently took the liberty of dabbling into japanese cuisine by myself, learning from the internet and by trial and error, i maneuvered my way around a simple, yet satisfying meal for her.

Being a Dental Surgeon myself, i do respect the usage of the proper tool for a job - and more to the point - i can appreciate a good, well sharpened blade. Only problem is, being left-handed, my choice of knives (bar importing) that i could choose from were either a R$99,00 ($50 ish US) or a R$780,00 (~$400ish) Yanagiba blade. Since it was going to be both my first japanese knife and i KNEW i was bound to ruin my first blade(s) till i get the amateur hang of it for home cooking, i didn't think much of it and got this one (http://i.imgur.com/StLpBqoh.jpg). I'm not sure what brand is this, and neither did the vendor, cause the japanese-apeaking one on the store was his wife, and she was home sick.

The vendor also talked me into getting a whetstone for sharpening it, claiming that most OOTB knives are better off getting a decent sharpening work done before usage. Since i was on a rather tight budget, i got a King K-80 sharpening stone (250/1000), which i later found out was a very slim stone compared to others. It was around the knife price range too (R$103,00, or around $52 US).

I've read and watched and read again on lots of forum posts, Youtube videos and discussions about the knife elements, how they are made and the basics of sharpening.