PDA

View Full Version : I sometimes get a page that looks kind of like a Table of Contents page



99Limited
07-20-2013, 11:42 PM
Or maybe a school paper outline. Been so long since I've seen either one, but anyway when I select a thread, every once in a while I'll get this weird page. This has been going on for maybe two weeks.

GlassEye
07-20-2013, 11:46 PM
Happens to me occasionally, as well. Safari 6.0.5 here, if that helps.

Crothcipt
07-20-2013, 11:53 PM
Is it on your comp.? Iphone?...

99Limited
07-20-2013, 11:54 PM
It's on my PC. Also I'm using the latest version of Firefox.

As a matter of fact, I just reloaded this page and it popped up again.

KKFAdmin
07-22-2013, 10:36 AM
Can you get me a screen shot? Anyone else having this issue and can help describe it?

PierreRodrigue
07-22-2013, 11:19 AM
I get it too. It isn't long lived, I would describe it as a list of all the forum headinigs/sub-headings, without the colored blocks, all left indexed. with no spacing. A tight jumbled block of text. It lasts for 5 seconds maybe, then all the blocks appear. Its as if there is a lull with the forum software "building the page" as it were. Instead of the usual "click" here it is, its more like a slow motion rendering.

knyfeknerd
07-22-2013, 11:35 AM
I get it too. It isn't long lived, I would describe it as a list of all the forum headinigs/sub-headings, without the colored blocks, all left indexed. with no spacing. A tight jumbled block of text. It lasts for 5 seconds maybe, then all the blocks appear. Its as if there is a lull with the forum software "building the page" as it were. Instead of the usual "click" here it is, its more like a slow motion rendering.
+1

Lucretia
07-22-2013, 12:41 PM
I get it too. It isn't long lived, I would describe it as a list of all the forum headinigs/sub-headings, without the colored blocks, all left indexed. with no spacing. A tight jumbled block of text. It lasts for 5 seconds maybe, then all the blocks appear. Its as if there is a lull with the forum software "building the page" as it were. Instead of the usual "click" here it is, its more like a slow motion rendering.

This.

stevenStefano
07-22-2013, 05:50 PM
I get it but not so often in the last week or so. For a while it was impossible to use the site, it happened every time I tried using this place, but for me it didn't fix itself, it just stayed looking all jumbled up

GlassEye
07-22-2013, 06:42 PM
I get it but not so often in the last week or so. For a while it was impossible to use the site, it happened every time I tried using this place, but for me it didn't fix itself, it just stayed looking all jumbled up

Same for me.

Chuckles
07-22-2013, 06:43 PM
Happening to me right now. 1st time.

KKFAdmin
07-23-2013, 01:43 PM
Can anyone get me a screen shot?

bikehunter
07-23-2013, 04:20 PM
Can anyone get me a screen shot?

I get this quite often, but a screen shot would be difficult I think. It's just a flash, maybe 2 seconds, if that, and then it's gone. Mysterious, but I don't find it even slightly annoying or inconvenient Shrug

Lucretia
07-23-2013, 07:01 PM
Faster than a speeding bulllet--or an interpreting browser:


17263


I'm seeing it on other sites, too. Wondering if it's a browser or adblock issue slowing things down.

tripleq
07-23-2013, 07:49 PM
This happens sometimes in FireFox. It can be a little buggy. You can refresh the page or choose the basic page style under the view menu.

eaglerock
07-23-2013, 07:55 PM
never see this with chrome !!!

Crothcipt
07-23-2013, 09:40 PM
With chrome I seem to get a flash of a pic when I post, and it refreshes the page. But that could be just me noticing it.

sachem allison
07-23-2013, 10:28 PM
Kitchen Knife Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Log Out
Settings
My Profile
Notifications
No new messages
Inbox
Welcome, sachem allison

Forum
New Posts
Private Messages
FAQ
Calendar
Community
Albums
Friends & Contacts
Member List
Forum Actions
Mark Forums Read
General Settings
Edit Profile
Quick Links
Today's Posts
Subscribed Threads
Open Contacts Popup
View Forum Leaders
Who's Online
What's New?

Advanced Search

Home
Forum
Vendors - Sales, Services, & Knifemakers
Henry Wa Handles and Conversions
Handles, Conversions, and other Stuff

+ Reply to Thread
Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst Previous ... 9101112 Next LastLast

Jump to page:

Results 401 to 440 of 442
Thread: Handles, Conversions, and other Stuff

sachem allison
07-23-2013, 10:29 PM
just got this page while using safari

KKFAdmin
07-24-2013, 10:38 AM
But only in Safari?

jared08
07-24-2013, 10:53 AM
I get it on firefox on my pc rarely and more often on my android phone.

schanop
07-24-2013, 05:28 PM
Sometimes this happens when the connection is not very good, particular when page style CSS is not loaded properly. In Firefox, if you choose View->PageStlyle->NoStyle then it mimicks what happens.

schanop
07-24-2013, 06:37 PM
For Safari to mimic the problematic page look, it is menu Develop->Disable Styles .

Twistington
08-15-2013, 09:08 AM
I got a tip from eaglerock to change my dns-settings to google's dns servers(primary: 8.8.8.8 and secondary: 8.8.4.4) and it worked just fine, got the problem yesterday after my isp messing around with the dns servers they provide... and now it's gone. :)

eaglerock
08-15-2013, 09:09 AM
:doublethumbsup:

brainsausage
08-15-2013, 04:14 PM
I've been having this issue on my iPhone 5 for a few days now.

KKFAdmin
08-16-2013, 12:03 PM
This is due to issues with the CDN.

Is all software up to date with your iPhone?

brainsausage
08-16-2013, 04:36 PM
This is due to issues with the CDN.

Is all software up to date with your iPhone?

Yup.

99Limited
10-30-2013, 02:27 PM
Well this problem has either popped back up or because I'm on KKF more often I'm just seeing the problem again. Is there something I need to do on my end? Browser is Firefox, latest release.

KKFAdmin
10-31-2013, 04:20 PM
Have you taken any corrective actions? Removed cookies, closed and reopened the browser for instance?

Is anyone else having issues with the style not loading properly?

daveb
10-31-2013, 04:53 PM
Had a TOC earlier today - first time since last fix. Also using FF on Android fon.

KKFAdmin
11-01-2013, 09:24 AM
Thank you. If anyone else can duplicate please let me know.