PDA

View Full Version : Anyone using a Harner "stabber"?

XooMG
10-10-2013, 12:34 PM
Sorry if the question is inappropriate or misplaced.

I've been looking for a shorter knife to complement my 210mm gyuto and 170mm cleaver, and I stumbled across some shorter knives by L.R. Harner that were sold by Lefty's store:

http://sharpandshinyshop.com/collections/found-a-home/products/butch-harner-90mm-3-5-parer-utility

I found the profile very appealing and thought it might fill a niche as a small knife for mostly board work and the occasional paring task. My kitchen is very tiny and even a shortish 210mm gyuto can be awkwardly big when working with garlic or ginger or other small stuff. However, I'm a novice and understand my intuition may be way off.

I was wondering if anyone's picked up one of these from Tom or from Butch directly, what you use it for, and how you like it. That'd help a bit. Butch actually emailed me saying he wasn't sure what people used them for, but that they were well-liked.

Thanks in advance.

CoqaVin
10-10-2013, 12:46 PM
Lefty just had a contest for a new run of these....I had to bow out of the second running because I just got a parer

XooMG
10-10-2013, 12:53 PM
Lefty just had a contest for a new run of these....I had to bow out of the second running because I just got a parer
I thought his contest was for more dedicated paring knife, which is narrower at the heel than the "stabby things" as Mr. Harner called them.

CoqaVin
10-10-2013, 12:56 PM
oh I didn't notice the difference they look pretty similar and anything that Lefty promotes on his website I'm sure is a good knife

Lefty
10-10-2013, 12:59 PM