PDA

View Full Version : Japanese or North American - who makes a better knife?

Josh
06-12-2011, 10:12 AM
When I started learning and collecting kitchen knives, I thought only of purchasing Japanese knives. The discussions were explicitly "J-Knife" with the odd comments towards German and French makers.

In the last couple of years of reading posts, and taking a step back to watch trends every now and then, I've noticed a shift - at least in this forum - towards North American made knives. There's no 700 year history and generation after generation of secrets being passed down within a family - a lot of the fine work I've seen is the result of real-world collaboration. Congrats by the way for the folks that make these things happen -

So - My question - where do the best knives of the world come from - if you had $1000 to $1500 to buy the best knife you could for the money - who would make it?

oivind_dahle
06-12-2011, 10:25 AM
American, no questions asked! :)

tk59
06-12-2011, 10:44 AM
There's only a handful of people around here that can possibly answer that one and I don't think you're one of them, OD. :poke1:

That said, I'm spending my first $1k+ on an American made knife.

Pensacola Tiger
06-12-2011, 10:54 AM
I don't own a Kramer or a Burke, but based on the knives I do own, I'd have to give the nod to Michael Rader.

Rick

Marko Tsourkan
06-12-2011, 10:57 AM