PDA

View Full Version : Mid-Tech?

RRLOVER
11-30-2011, 10:17 PM
This is the question.Why is a knife called a mid tech.Is it having a company with years of experience and better equipment do the HT.I am still a newbie, so is the easy bake oven used by most knifemakers better then the salts used by the HT company?? Also is getting a consistent profile cut done buy a machine a bad thing??

ajhuff
11-30-2011, 10:27 PM
Good question! I'm just a newbie but I already think it's a stupid description.

-AJ

Marko Tsourkan
11-30-2011, 10:36 PM
Some info on the subject
http://www.bladeforums.com/forums/showthread.php/293969-What-are-quot-Midtech-quot-knives

Here is a response by Ken Onion from that thread, and it should shed some light on the subject. I think the term was coined by him.