PDA

View Full Version : Spirograph Nakiri WIP.

HHH Knives
12-27-2011, 07:09 PM
Im gona do a mini WIP on this one. Its my take on a Nakiri. :D

Randy Jr forged me this kick butt billet of Spirograph damascus a few months back. and I have been trying to figure out what pattern blade to make that would really show off the pattern of the damascus, A few guys on the board made some suggestions and after doing some research, I settled on a Nakiri.

This will have a western/Wa handle Ala Delbert Ealy (I asked him if I could try his method and he graciously said I could) Hope I do it justice.

The specs so far.

OAL 358mm or 14 1/8 inches.
BLADE 210mm or 8 3/8 inches
Thickness 2.5mm ish Thinking I may surface grind this down to about 2mm Open to suggestions.
Heel height 56mm or 2 3/16 inches. tapering slightly to50mm one inch behind the front of the blade.
Handle will be 130mm ish long with the front at 24mm and the back tapering to 28mm

This is my first attempt at this pattern blade and I gota say, It went against every fiber in my being to not have a tip or a point on this.. lol Yet after looking at hundreds of pictures and reading everything I can find about the knife. I had to give it a try!

So far I have the Blade Heat treated and rough profiled. I may still make some minor changes to the profile to make the knife better, and am open to suggestions. Currently it feels good on the board, with a very gentle roll from the front to the heel.

I have a few questions??

For the main bevels, I was thinking flat grinds. Taking them a little over half the height of the blade. But may take the grinds all the way to the spine. :cool2: Should the grind and cutting edge continue up the flat at the tip/front of the blade?

Would 2mm thickness be preferable? or should I leave it at 2.55mm?

Any and all other suggestions of changes or modifications that will make this a better cutter are welcomed! :wink: