PDA

View Full Version : What gift to get for a friend starting culinary school? (Non-knife related)

crizq0
03-13-2012, 01:43 PM
I'm just a home cook, so i'm not sure what is an essential tool a chef or culinary student would need.

Would like to get something non-knife related. So what's something that you can't live without and probably wished you had gotten it earlier in your cooking career?

Specific cookbook? Special spoon? Thermometer? Cooking tweezers? Sharpening stones?

clayton
03-13-2012, 02:08 PM
A nice slotted flexible "fish" spatula with a thin edge. Like Lamson sharp or Wusthof.

Looks like this:

http://d2oqjo3nc0aqra.cloudfront.net/171318/product/standard/2165.jpg

Deckhand
03-13-2012, 02:19 PM
A nice slotted flexible "fish" spatula with a thin edge. Like Lamson sharp or Wusthof.

Looks like this:

http://d2oqjo3nc0aqra.cloudfront.net/171318/product/standard/2165.jpg

Thought the same thing Gray Kunz has the Sveico one. Amazon sells it.

slowtyper
03-13-2012, 04:07 PM
thermapen (though I'm not sure if instructors may not like this being used all the time), maybe a set of microplanes, gray kunz spoons

ajhuff
03-13-2012, 05:08 PM
I guess it depends on the school to some degree. Based on my experience the last 4 years:

Thermopen thermometer. Not the fold out kind (though those are awesome) but one you can wear in your sleeve.

Extra hats and aprons (seriously).

A good vegetable peeler.

That's about all I can think of. Maybe a backpack.

-AJ

Chifunda
03-13-2012, 05:10 PM
To me a great gift is something I'd like to have but probably wouldn't buy for myself. A set of Gray Kunz spoons fits that description.

ajhuff
03-13-2012, 05:11 PM
Oh, and a fair number of my classmates carried this around everywhere they went:

Food Lover's Companion (http://www.amazon.com/The-New-Food-Lovers-Companion/dp/0764135775/ref=sr_1_sc_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1331672983&sr=8-1-spell)

SpikeC
03-13-2012, 05:42 PM
They have holsters for the folding thermapens, you know!

Deckhand