PDA

View Full Version : Kimber 1911's

AFKitchenknivesguy
04-19-2012, 11:01 PM
I know we have a few gun enthusiasts on here, as knives and guns go hand in hand. I also know Kimbers are prestigious for many, what is your take on them? I've been drooling over a couple for awhile, and in a few months may pull the trigger. I am definetely a .45 guy, and I already have a Springfield Arms XDM .45 ACP. I heard the mags suck in Kimbers and they only give you one, so add two extra quality mags to the price. Other than that, the word is they are very solid/well made, shoot beautifully, and feel just right in the hand. What say you?

AFKitchenknivesguy
04-19-2012, 11:09 PM
BTW I was looking at the Crimson Carry II or the Raptor II.

stereo.pete
04-19-2012, 11:52 PM
I am strictly a Springfield Armory 1911 guy because their customer service is absolutely the best and their custom shop is damn near perfect as well. I have a Springfield Armory 1911 TRP that is an absolute tack driver.

Salty dog
04-19-2012, 11:53 PM
http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f296/sebcat/kimber1.jpg

http://i1036.photobucket.com/albums/a442/Saltys_knives/dondiego3.jpg

http://i1036.photobucket.com/albums/a442/Saltys_knives/kimber5.jpg

All for sale. PM me.

AFKitchenknivesguy
04-19-2012, 11:56 PM
I suppose just about every factory made gun uses MIM parts, but I've heard SA uses a lot. Much is made in house at Kimber. Don't get me wrong, SA is the s***, my XDM feels so right.

So why 1911? It's rich military history (I'm also considering a Colt, yes I know they were the first). This is why I own a submariner too. Well it's the quintisential divers watch too.

AFKitchenknivesguy
04-19-2012, 11:57 PM
Salty, I thought you stopped buying knives to purchase guns? QC issue?

Salty dog
04-20-2012, 12:01 AM
Legal defense fund.

I don't like Colt. Lifetime warranty that's used too much. I don't like my expensive gun at the shop for three months.

To be honest. If my life depended on it I wouldn't use any 1911.