PDA

View Full Version : shrinkage



tk59
05-20-2012, 06:26 PM
Any pic I upload is autmatically shrunk to a ridiculously small size. Not cool.

Burl Source
05-20-2012, 07:18 PM
That is usually caused by a computer malfunction that occurs between your keyboard and chair.
If you select the picture icon, then select from url and leave the box checked that says Retrieve remote file and reference locally
You get this
7287
But if you uncheck the box, you get this
http://i901.photobucket.com/albums/ac219/burlsource/apr12/1-11.jpg

If you are loading a photo from your computer, then select upload file it does it as a small photo like this
7288

Burl Source
05-20-2012, 07:20 PM
Click on the small photo to enlarge it then right click and select copy image location.
Then click photo icon again, select the from url, insert the copied image location in the field and uncheck the box and you get this.
http://www.kitchenknifeforums.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=7288&d=1337555821

tk59
05-20-2012, 08:03 PM
That's nice that it is working for you. It isn't for me. This isn't my first time posting pics here. Where's the flipping off smilie when you need it?

Rottman
05-20-2012, 08:06 PM
What's that? Both are small and don't get bigger....

RRLOVER
05-20-2012, 08:44 PM
Loading pics off a hosting sight like photobucket always worked easier for me,and if the laptop breaks all the pics are backed up.

Burl Source
05-21-2012, 06:26 PM
That's nice that it is working for you. It isn't for me. This isn't my first time posting pics here. Where's the flipping off smilie when you need it?

I think Dave got rid of the smilie you were looking for.
It was being over used in posts following my comments.

Just teasing you TK.
You aren't using a Mac are you?
Because that's not a real computer.

Lucretia
05-21-2012, 07:07 PM
...If you select the picture icon, then select from url and leave the box checked that says Retrieve remote file and reference locally...


Thanks Mark! Unchecking the box fixed it for me. PEBKAC.

bprescot
05-22-2012, 09:52 AM
Oh PEBKAC. Most common computer problem I run across, followed closely by your standard ID-10-T.

Lucretia
05-22-2012, 10:51 AM
BTW, tk, the PEBKAC was for me, not for you. I'm glad you brought this up. Been frustrated lately trying to upload decent-sized photos. There's definitely been a recent change.

Dave Martell
05-22-2012, 11:59 AM
Hi folks, I've looked into this and can't find a problem myself but there's a couple of things that I can note that might help here.

The first is the remote file uncheck thing mentioned by Mark. This is a feature that showed up a few months back when we had to upgrade the software. I personally don't care for this but it's here to stay because we have no choice.

The second is that regardless of the above your pictures will always be resized if you upload them from your PC. They will be resized for the purpose of not throwing off the forum view. Many people today shoot mono monster sized images that need to be resized before uploaded but that never happens so the forum software provides this feature for us. This is actually a good thing even if it doesn't seem like it. Imagine a forum view where the pictures were so large that you had to move the image just to see only part of it, that sucks. Now on the flip side we shouldn't have re-sized images that are so small that we can't see any details, that sucks worse.

Don't worry too much about it though, as soon as you figure it out they'll change it again. :)

tk59
05-23-2012, 10:52 PM
74097408
The small pic is the size from yesterday. The second one is the size it's allowing me to upload today. It would be nice to get the size a bit bigger, if possible but this is already a significant improvement. Thanks, Dave. I can feel my blood pressure coming back down to normal.

@Mark: No worries. Once I get to flip you off in person, we'll be cool. :)

Dave Martell
05-23-2012, 11:33 PM
I've searched for an answer on this problem and have tried every answer I found yet nothing works. :(

Crothcipt
05-28-2012, 01:54 AM
hmm I can click on the 2nd one(smaller) but I can't on the larger one. Not sure if you wanted that. when clicking on the smaller one you get a huge pic.

tk59
05-28-2012, 02:01 AM
Yup. That's how I set it up. No matter what I do, that "huge" pic is the biggest I can get. It's fine though. Before, I was getting much smaller ones.

Namaxy
07-11-2012, 09:56 AM
Just testing this myself...pls bear with me...

8492

That is a photo I uploaded directly from the computer.

Now Mark wrote..."Click on the small photo to enlarge it then right click and select copy image location.
Then click photo icon again, select the from url, insert the copied image location in the field and uncheck the box and you get this."

I'm not sure at what point you can click the image.....while I'm posting it just shows text 'attach=config ...etc.' sorry for being dense on this....

markenki
07-11-2012, 10:44 AM
That looks good, though! What is it?

Dieter01
07-16-2012, 04:14 PM
This forum has so much going for it, everything is in place. I hate using external sites for uploading pictures though. Why not make it available here? Most places put a restriction on pixles and kilobites... Why not do the same? I have made so many decent photoshop images with a good camera and had them reduced to thumbnails pretty much. Would it be possible to get 800 pixels wide at least???

Dave Martell
07-16-2012, 06:32 PM
We do have it available for subscribing members....

http://www.kitchenknifeforums.com/showthread.php/64-Image-File-Uploading



I don't have a problem using the forum software for hosting my images.

Dave Martell
07-16-2012, 06:35 PM
test

Dave Martell
07-16-2012, 06:38 PM
I did this for the above test image uploaded from my PC directly to the KKF server...

Go Advanced> Manage Attachments> Add Files> Select Files> Upload Files


What are you doing?

Eamon Burke
07-16-2012, 07:47 PM
What are you doing?

Drooling on those handles. I love maple.

Namaxy
07-17-2012, 09:16 AM
OK...testing adding the image using the exact steps you wrote.

Crothcipt
07-17-2012, 10:41 AM
When I click on the image, the new one looks about the same size as the one shown. I am wondering if the size of the one you get from clicking is set from download?

Pensacola Tiger
07-17-2012, 11:22 AM
You have to be aware of the size of the image you are uploading to the KKF server. Thumbnails are generated at 402 pixel horizontal resolution. If your image is only slightly larger than that, then the two images will be close to the same size. Namaxy's uploaded image is 420 x 280, so there is little difference in the size. Keep in mind that if your image is less than 402 horizontal pixels, that a thumbnail is not generated, but the actual image is used. So, check the size of the image you are going to upload. If you start with a small image, that's all you're going to get.

Now, bigger is better, up to a point. Why up to a point? Well, the server software is configured to limit the size of the stored image to 1024 horizontal pixels. If you attempt to upload an image with a higher pixel count, it will be resized.

Some examples:

Uploaded a 2289 x 1289 pixel image; file was resized by the website software to 1024 x 576.

8634

Uploaded a 1280 x 720 pixel image; file was resized by the website software to 1024 x 576.

8633

Uploaded a 640 x 360 pixel image; file uploaded at 640 x 360.

8632

Uploaded a 320 x 180 pixel image; file uploaded at 320 x 180, no thumbnail generated.

8631

Bottom line is that you have to control the size of the images you want to upload. Best results are from images that have a horizontal pixel count of more than 1024.

Rick

Dave Martell
07-17-2012, 11:34 AM
Thanks Rick, that explains it well.

Namaxy
07-17-2012, 12:21 PM
I appreciate the explanation Rick, but for some reason it isn't working that way for me. I've found there are two ways to load a photo from my computer. 1. Following the exact steps that Dave outlined, and 2. (the way I used to do it) by clicking the insert image icon above the text field. When you 'go advanced, manage attachments' the photo shows, but with the paperclip attachment graphics around it....when you insert image it does so right in the text.

HOWEVER....either way I try, it resizes my photo down to 420 x 280, so that when you click on the inserted image in the post, the resulting pop up image is no larger. The images that I upload are significantly larger, yet they don't scale back to 1024 x 576 as you indicated...they go all the way down to 420 x 280. For example the image in my post above is 5184 x 3456 on my desktop. When I uploaded it, the uploader showed it to be about 5.2 MB. Yet it defaulted back to 420 x 280. Is it possible that the size is too large for it to scale to 1024 x 576?

JohnnyChance
07-17-2012, 01:00 PM
HOWEVER....either way I try, it resizes my photo down to 420 x 280, so that when you click on the inserted image in the post, the resulting pop up image is no larger. The images that I upload are significantly larger, yet they don't scale back to 1024 x 576 as you indicated...they go all the way down to 420 x 280. For example the image in my post above is 5184 x 3456 on my desktop. When I uploaded it, the uploader showed it to be about 5.2 MB. Yet it defaulted back to 420 x 280. Is it possible that the size is too large for it to scale to 1024 x 576?

I thought of this too. Maybe trying scaling back the 5184x3456 image by 50% then upload it again and see if the server properly resizes it.

JohnnyChance
07-17-2012, 01:02 PM
test

8637

http://www.kitchenknifeforums.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=8637

JohnnyChance
07-17-2012, 01:06 PM
8638

http://www.kitchenknifeforums.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=8638

JohnnyChance
07-17-2012, 01:11 PM
8640

8642

JohnnyChance
07-17-2012, 01:11 PM
welp, idk.

Namaxy
07-17-2012, 01:27 PM
Johnny,

That last e-mail...#31....the photo thumbnails are the same size as what appears in my post above....but unlike mine clicking on them gives a nice large photo. Find any secrets?

Namaxy
07-17-2012, 01:33 PM
test

resized on desk to 1024 x 683

Namaxy
07-17-2012, 01:33 PM
test

resized on desk to 1024 x 683

Nope...same thing

Dave Martell
07-17-2012, 01:36 PM
I'm baffled

Namaxy
07-17-2012, 03:25 PM
I'm baffled

I am too. Only other thing I wondered was if there is a MB limit. Even when I resize, the photos seem to be over 3 MB.

More than likely, although I seem to be following all the steps, I just suck at this. Going to look into photobucket.

Dieter01
07-17-2012, 06:14 PM
Testing....

JohnnyChance
07-17-2012, 06:16 PM
Going to look into photobucket.

I use Google's Picasa, much cleaner, less clutter than photobucket.

Dieter01
07-17-2012, 06:18 PM
That works. When i went above either the file size (kB's) or size (pixels) specified in the attachment manager the picture is reduced to a 5kB thumbnail. .jpeg files can be much larger than .jpg.

Is it possible to post a picture with a decent size directly into the web browser (like the third post in this thread)?

Keith Neal
07-17-2012, 06:25 PM
Testing....

That is a fantastic photograph!

Pensacola Tiger
07-17-2012, 06:39 PM
That works. When i went above either the file size (kB's) or size (pixels) specified in the attachment manager the picture is reduced to a 5kB thumbnail. .jpeg files can be much larger than .jpg.

Is it possible to post a picture with a decent size directly into the web browser (like the third post in this thread)?

It always has been. Upload the image to a hosting service like Photobucket or Picasa, then reference the URL of the image rather than uploading it.

Namaxy
07-17-2012, 06:59 PM
I use Google's Picasa, much cleaner, less clutter than photobucket.

I have Picassa now....it's what I used to re-size the photo. So when I took the roughly 5000 x 3000 photo and resized in Picassa to 1024 x 683 it went from about 5.2 MB to 3 MB. Do you think that's still why it didn't work?

Namaxy
07-18-2012, 08:41 PM
deleted

SameGuy
07-18-2012, 09:34 PM
Sorry, even though I support the site, I've always felt the built-in uploader sucks. I use both Picasaweb and Photobucket interchangeably to store and upload photos, and link to them wherever I post online. Lately I've used Picasaweb more because it plays more nicely with my Eye-Fi card.


https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-CuMyiArzMA8/T6ccmWXjySI/AAAAAAAAA9c/3Awh4g2W1_M/s640/DSCN1614.JPG

Namaxy
07-18-2012, 09:54 PM
sorry...another failed attempt

JohnnyChance
07-19-2012, 12:20 AM
I have Picassa now....it's what I used to re-size the photo. So when I took the roughly 5000 x 3000 photo and resized in Picassa to 1024 x 683 it went from about 5.2 MB to 3 MB. Do you think that's still why it didn't work?

No I don't think so, that shouldn't matter. Just use the online portion of Picasa to upload your pictures and paste the link with tags.

SameGuy
07-19-2012, 12:58 AM
If you upload to Picasaweb (from Picasa or any other way -- like I use Eye-Fi), just click on the picture you want to upload to select it; it will now be the large picture on your screen. On the lower part of the right-hand column, click on "Link to this Photo" which will expand with options. Select "Image only (no link)" and select the size you want from the drop-down. Then copy that link and either use the simple BB code img tags as JohnnyChance suggests, or if using the wysiwyg editor, click the image button and select the "From URL" tab, paste the link and de-select the "retrieve" box.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-nb-8_WUkbXs/TztqINZ_G_I/AAAAAAAAAnw/_YFJRPMe3dU/s800/DSCN1283.JPG

JohnnyChance
07-19-2012, 01:28 AM
If you upload to Picasaweb (from Picasa or any other way -- like I use Eye-Fi), just click on the picture you want to upload to select it; it will now be the large picture on your screen. On the lower part of the right-hand column, click on "Link to this Photo" which will expand with options. Select "Image only (no link)" and select the size you want from the drop-down. Then copy that link and either use the simple BB code img tags as JohnnyChance suggests, or if using the wysiwyg editor, click the image button and select the "From URL" tab, paste the link and de-select the "retrieve" box.

I used to do that too. Too much work. Just right click on the photo and select copy image link. The standard size is usually a good size to be posting in the forum anyway.

SameGuy
07-19-2012, 01:43 AM
Yeah, I do it that way too. But sometimes you have to give all the real instructions. :D

Also, using the embedding link makes sure outsiders can't find a backdoor into your albums if you don't want them snooping around...

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-F6Zt3Lw5J_g/TztpgmZZ94I/AAAAAAAAAnQ/zFLk-42yKYs/s576/DSCN1242.JPG