PDA

View Full Version : Are you sure you want to navigate away from this page?



Eamon Burke
07-02-2012, 07:22 PM
Just in case Dave wants to go on a snipe hunt for an obscure bug, I figured I'd comment on a little peeve of mine.

KKF has a bad habit of asking me "Are you sure you want to navigate away from this page? All changes made in the editor will be lost.", when I haven't even CLICKED on the editor, or when I am actually trying to make a post.

I look at page 1 of a thread. Read it. Click on 'Next Page' to keep reading...
"Are you sure you want to navigate away from this page? All changes made in the editor will be lost."
Click 'Yes'.

Then I read the page. I click on the editor to reply, type something. Then I need to find a funny emoticon, so I click "Go Advanced" to find it.
"Are you sure you want to navigate away from this page? All changes made in the editor will be lost."
Click 'Yes'.

I find the funny icon, then add it, finish the post, click "submit reply".
Oh thank God, it didn't ask me again.

I notice that someone said something in the time I was playing with the post, and I want to retort. So I use the quick reply box and type a response. I click "Post Quick Reply".
"Are you sure you want to navigate away from this page? All changes made in the editor will be lost."
Click 'Yes'.

LEAVE ME THE EFF ALONE!!

If it's important, I type it in Writer and then copy/paste. Often, I will just highlight the text and copy it to the clipboard, and if something goes wrong, I just paste it back in, takes like 2 seconds. But that happens once a year. What happens daily?
"Are you sure you want to navigate away from this page? All changes made in the editor will be lost."
Click 'Yes'.

RobinW
07-02-2012, 07:24 PM
I agree this is a rather annoying sign to get ...

Dave Martell
07-02-2012, 07:26 PM
I've never had that happen but it sounds very annoying.

Dave Martell
07-02-2012, 07:29 PM
So, if I'm understanding this correctly, is if you type something out and then decide to not post it - the software asks you if you are sure you want to leave the page?

Is this what happens?

RobinW
07-02-2012, 07:32 PM
It happens even if i do not write anything in a reply box.

In your example it would be perfectly fine if it came up.

Dave Martell
07-02-2012, 07:35 PM
It happens even if i do not write anything in a reply box.

In your example it would be perfectly fine if it came up.


Ok that's not cool at all.

Dave Martell
07-02-2012, 07:42 PM
From vBulletin....


If you're receiving the message consistently, this means that AJAX communication is somehow failing in your browser. You don't have any settings or addons that prevent the server from pushing new information to your browser without reloading the page do you?


If it works in one browser like Firefox or Chrome and not another like Internet Explorer. It would be a browser issue. When you go to save something, the system will attempt to send the data to your server via AJAX. This reduces load and page reloading. If the AJAX fails or a success message does not get processed by the Browser after a period of time, the Javascript (running in the browser) performs a standard submission for your data. This is what causes the dialog box to appear. The system is trying to load another page so we give you a warning.

If the edits do not save, then your browser is failing to send the information to begin with or otherwise interfering with the form submission.

Dave Martell
07-02-2012, 07:47 PM
I made a change to AJAX in vB, please let me know if this helps....or not

Eamon Burke
07-02-2012, 07:50 PM
Cool, I'll let you know if it subsides. It was doing it when I am leaving the page without clicking the box, or even when I am trying to leave the page because I am, in fact, posting a comment.

Eamon Burke
07-02-2012, 07:50 PM
Thanks for checking it out, I didn't think it was that big of a deal, more just a minor annoyance.

Dave Martell
07-02-2012, 08:01 PM
BTW, this is a Quick Reply box issue that's a known problem without a proper fix (upgrade) that I can find.

Burl Source
07-02-2012, 10:33 PM
I agree with the browser being the cause.
I use FireFox and the only time I get a similar message is when I start to make a reply to a post and decide not to.

GlassEye
07-02-2012, 10:47 PM
The dialog box just popped up when trying to go to a different page. I have never had this happen previously when it shouldn't.

Dave Martell
07-02-2012, 11:07 PM
The dialog box just popped up when trying to go to a different page. I have never had this happen previously when it shouldn't.


Interesting...

Johnny.B.Good
07-02-2012, 11:16 PM
I use FireFox and the only time I get a similar message is when I start to make a reply to a post and decide not to.

+1

rsacco
07-02-2012, 11:35 PM
Out of curiosity, are you guys seeing this problem on a Windows-based browser? If so, do you have any third-party toolbars installed in your browser?

Eamon Burke
07-03-2012, 12:03 AM
A lot on android, now that I think about it. But that doesn't make it a browser problem, its a vbulletin compatibility issue. Just sayin.

And a minor issue compared to not being able to sub my own forum. :razz:

GlassEye
07-03-2012, 12:07 AM
I am on Safari 5.1.7 when it happened to me.

Crothcipt
07-03-2012, 12:18 AM
I have had it a few times, since the upgrade. But I thought I had hit a key while reading a thread, causing it to start to do a quick post thing. But I was wrong. I use chrome too.

The only problem I have on my phone is I keep hitting the calender button instead of the "What's new". But that is just my big fingers and small screen problem. :)

RobinW
07-03-2012, 01:35 AM
I use explorer on a windows based machine and have recievied it both with and without "extra" toolbars.