PDA

View Full Version : Sustainable Seafood Info

JanusInTheGarden
07-05-2012, 04:15 PM
Hello all,

I'm trying to do some research on sustainable seafood but I'm finding that its difficult to wade through a lot of B.S. to get to the real guidelines and useful information. Has anyone done any research on this topic and if so do you have any books/websites to recommend?

Thus far I've found the only useful info on websites of Monterrey Bay Aquarium and Greenpeace.

lowercasebill
07-05-2012, 06:41 PM
monterrey bay is decent and i will email my friend who recently retired from the federal govt salt water fisheries. last time i asked him for info he included monterrey on the list.. will post his reply when i get it .. it may be somewhere on this forum already [or on greeneggers.com] he is currently consulting about clams.. " hi i am a clam consultant "
lcb

ecchef
07-05-2012, 07:46 PM
http://blueocean.org/programs/sustainable-seafood-program/

steelcity
07-09-2012, 02:30 PM
I'm waiting on a buddy to send me some info so I can pass it on to you. I do some commercial spearfishing out of the Tampa Bay area and it really is a great way to produce a great product that's sustainable. Fresh grouper, hogfish, and snapper all collected with no by-catch due to using experienced shooters who can pick and choose the legal and quality fish. The fish are managed by seasons and quota.

steelcity
07-09-2012, 02:37 PM
I will pass the info on once I have it and feel free to contact me or my friend who runs it. The fish are tagged with a tracking number and will have a brief history to them as to when/where they were caught. The tag will also allow you to track your fish straight to your restaurant.

JanusInTheGarden
07-09-2012, 06:09 PM
Steelcity, that sounds awesome. Let me know when you have the info on it. Is there a website? I haven't heard too much in the way of spearfishing. How efficient/cost effective is the practice? Looking forward to reading about it!

Crothcipt