PDA

View Full Version : Just pick my damn gyuto please

meagan_myers
07-11-2012, 11:27 AM
Ok. So I am not a knife expert. I have looked through the forums and I am overwhelmed. I am wanting to get a 240 or more preferably a 270 gyuto for under $300. My current knife inventory includes several messermeister knifes (about 10 years old). My first "japanese" style knife was a MAC MTH-80. I realized then I never would buy a german knife again. My husband got me a Shun classic 10" chef knife for Christmas about two years ago and it is not holding up well. I am now looking to upgrade. I am not the friendliest person when it comes to knives.:O I am more interested in real quality, sharpness and durability than the name. Damascus does turn me on on.

There are a few knives that have caught my attention, like the JCK Hattori FH series and HD series, The Blazen 270, the ******** Laser etc. The Blazen and the ******** seem to be out of stock right now (**** website).

So, how would you spend my $300?

EdipisReks
07-11-2012, 11:31 AM
in what way is the Shun not holding up well?

chinacats
07-11-2012, 11:50 AM
Welcome!

Anything you buy will need sharpening, so I would spend 200 on a nice J-knife (plenty of options here depending on profile, handle, etc...) and 100 on a nice combo stone. You can spend a few hours watching videos (good ones you can link to here), practice on your old knives, and always have an extremely sharp knife that will put a smile on your face.
As to not being good to your knives, buy stainless--and more than that, try to change your habits or you will always be frustrated by the edges of your knives.

Birnando
07-11-2012, 11:51 AM
Well, I got the **** from **** for about****. I was really ***** with that...

ajhuff
07-11-2012, 11:58 AM
Is anyone else seeing how unhelpful this whole censorship thing is?

-AJ

El Pescador
07-11-2012, 12:00 PM
Just the price you pay for playing here. There are other forums....

-AJ

Eamon Burke
07-11-2012, 12:05 PM