PDA

View Full Version : WTB - Slicing Knife

skiajl6297
10-26-2012, 11:47 AM
Now that I have a Gyuto (Blazen 240) and a Parer (Del) I am considering what I want to ask my wife for for Christmas. :O

I clearly have the bug. As a home cook, I am trying to address my most frequent needs. I think I have two remaining gaps to fill, aside from things I just want out of lust.

I am looking for a recomendation for a good slicing knife. I know this is a bit vague, but primarily, I am looking for a knife that would be best suited for slicing meats. I'm thinking something to carve the turkey, something to carve slices of skirt steak, something to carve slices of roast leg of lamb, something to slice london broil, etc. I do not frequently cut raw fish, nor do I expect to. I'd also like this knife to be a good prep knife for various cuts of meat - prepping roasts, silverskin removal, breaking down larger cuts of beef, pork, etc. I am not looking to spend a fortune, and want to keep this knife at or below $200.

Is this the type of chance to go for a single bevel knife? I am working on my sharpening skills, and will also be asking for a stone or two in the 3000-5000 range. I do not yet own a carbon knife - is this my chance to get on board? I am not afraid of patina, but wonder about reactivity. Not opposed to stainless.

Appreciate any thoughts or suggestions. Also, aside from my finding something used on the BST thread, I'd like to be able to show it to my wife in some meaningful way - online with pictures. Thanks all! Looking forward to hearing suggestions.

PS - next "needs" are a cleaver and a straight razor. Because I "need" both. :laugh:

Lefty
10-26-2012, 11:59 AM
The BST is yor best bet, for sure, but it's tough to time when your wife is the one buying it for you. In my opinion, you should go carbon suji. Sujis are born with the God given right to patinate and look extra awesome while doing so. Botfly forms a beautiful patina quite like warm, rare skirt steak!