Home/hobby cook looking for a new knife

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hikeeba

Reaction score
I am new to the world of knives and I have old had cheap knives to use. I've been reading through this forum and there seems to be a lot of good advice.

I am hoping there is something within my budget that is better than what I have been used to.

Thanks!

What type of knife(s) do you think you want?
I think I want a standard chef's knife for general use.​

Why is it being purchased? What, if anything, are you replacing?
For general home cooking use. I cook multiple times a week for dinner. I am replacing a Calphalon chef's knife.​

What do you like and dislike about these qualities of your knives already?
Aesthetics-I don't care how it looks.
Edge Quality/Retention-Most of my knives are cheap and don't hold an edge. I'd like it to hold and edge for a while.
Ease of Use-Not sure.
Comfort-I don't seem to notice the difference in handles. Maybe because I don't use it all the time.

What grip do you use?
Hammer mostly but I think I will start using the pinch.​

What kind of cutting motion do you use?
Maybe rock, chop, & walk. I don't know much about this.​

Where do you store them?
In a drawer.​

Have you ever oiled a handle?
No.​

What kind of cutting board(s) do you use?
Olive wood, plastic.​

For edge maintenance, do you use a strop, honing rod, pull through/other, or nothing?
I have a honing rod I use occasionally. I don't mind learning how to sharpen it.​

Have they ever been sharpened?
No.​

What is your budget?
$100-$150. I'm mostly a home/hobby chef so I don't want to spend too much.​

What do you cook and how often?
I cook many different types of dishes: india, asian, mexican. A mix of vegetables and meats, but no deboning. Sometimes a pork shoulder/butt. I cook about every other day.​

Special requests(Country of origin/type of wood/etc)?