Quantcast
Beginner sharpening kit
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Beginner sharpening kit

Beginner sharpening kit

I have a set of Globals and 2 Tojiro knives, and I want to learn to sharpen these before I start to upgrade to a few good knives. I am just about to buy a Bester 1200 and an Atoma 140 diamond plate as well as a stone holder. I already have an 8x3 Coticule. Will this setup be enough to learn sharpening or will I need another stone, or anything else, for that matter? The Globals are less than a month old, and the Tojiros are over a year old. Never been sharpened.

Very good start

Rika 5k perhaps? Definitely a stropping solution is needed as well.
    Starting this harvest I'm a starving startling artist/
    Lyrical arsonist it's arduous spitting this smartest arsenic/

Quote Originally Posted by ThEoRy View Post
    Rika 5k perhaps? Definitely a stropping solution is needed as well.
    I just wanna get started, and maybe buy a higher grit (4-8k) stone later on if that is feasible. Is the srtopping for polish or deburring? I have some strop leather and some chromium oxide powder hidden away somewhere. I am considering now the Sigma Select II 400 and 1200 grit stones. Dunno why, other than I like to be awkward. I also reallydon't like the idea of soaking the Bester for hours. I don't mind having to soak stones for a little while (up to 15mins or so) before use but I really think the soaking of the Bester would just vexx my head.

I don't know much about cocitules, about what grit range is it?
    Starting this harvest I'm a starving startling artist/
    Lyrical arsonist it's arduous spitting this smartest arsenic/

blue belgian stones are around 4k range, yellow coticules are at around 8k range.

Fwiw i barely use my Bester preferring my Chosera stones.

For Chosera in Europe:
    edenwebshops.co.uk
    edenwebshops.de
    800 and 2 or 3k

Ben do you know if the Edenwebshps UK are good prices?