First Impressions of The Gesshin Hide Mizu-Honyaki Blue 1 270 mm Gyuto

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bamin

Reaction score
So I've had this for a couple weeks no, but I've been so busy that I didn't have time to really play with it.

Let me begin by saying that I am just a home cook so its not getting put through its paces in edge retention, but its Blue 1 and very hard so I don't foresee sharpening more often than every few months.

The fit and finish on the knife is superb, everything you'd expect at his price point. Then handle is made of ichii wood and is very large, almost as big as that found on the Suisin IH gyutos.

The grind is flawless, very convex more so than any other knife I've ever held. There is some distal taper but its not very extreme, so quite a bit of metal at the tip, so no flex in the blade. Above the heel the spine is about 4mm and 20mm from the tip it is 2mm.

The edge out of the box was very sharp already, but it wasn't terribly thin behind the edge. I found it to wedge when going through an onion (haven't really cut other things yet) going through it from the root end to the other end in preparation to dice. I was unable to cut through the onion horizontally (the way salty does it) it would get stuck in the first few inches. As, a comparison the Yoshikane White 2 Wa-gyuto is similarly thick at the spine but it is noticeably thinner behind the edge.