Quantcast
which kitchen knife should I buy?
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: which kitchen knife should I buy?

which kitchen knife should I buy?

Hi everybody.
    my name is Dan. I am relatively new to kitchen knives (but I have some experience with straight razors and honing them)
    I want to buy myself a chef knife or gyuto for general work.

I already have a Tojiro Shirogami nakiri and I like the edge it takes but it goes dull too fast and it a generally delicate knife (I am worried to chop through harder foods)
    the carbon steel also can rust really easily and I have to be really careful with it.

which knife do you recommend that is hardier than the one I have and holds a better edge? I will keep my eyed peeled in the classifieds section I prefer buying a used knife.

I pull the knife towards myself when I am cutting and I push down. I don't use the rocking motion often.

Thanks for your help
    Dan

Greetings Maestro!

Might be best to start with this questionnaire.
    one man gathers what another man spills...

Thanks!

What type of knife(s) do you think you want?

chef knife /gyuto

Why is it being purchased? What, if anything, are you replacing?

I only have one nakiri knife, I need a chef knife with a pointy tip

What do you like and dislike about these qualities of your knives already?
    Aesthetics- I don't care about aesthetics that much
    Edge Quality/Retention- it is very important to me, my Tojiro carbon knife does not hold the very sharp edge for too long
    Ease of Use- ease of sharpening is very important. 50/50 bevel is essential.
    Comfort- is good to have but I don't use the knife for long periods of time because I am not a professional cook

What grip do you use?
    pinch grip

What kind of cutting motion do you use?
    pull knife towards myself and slice

Where do you store them?
    in knife drawer

Have you ever oiled a handle?
    no

What kind of cutting board(s) do you use?