Left handed?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

arrowhawk

Reaction score
I am new to japanese knifes. I am also left handed.
So my question.
Is there such a thing as a left handed knife, how much more do you pay ?

For double beveled things (typical gyuto, petty, etc.) it's a minor issue. Some of these have slightly asymmetrical grinds to the overall blade, and/or an asymmetrical edge bevel (70/30, etc.), but it's generally not a big deal. The differences are pretty insignificant -- less important than your sharpening technique, etc. Over time, any knife you sharpen will develop an edge that is (hopefully!) suited to your personal use.

For traditional single-edged Japanese designs, though, you need to order a left-handed knife, which is generally 50% more expensive.

I'm a lefty, and I have no single-edged knives.

A lot of J-knives have a righty bias and mostly it isn't a big deal. Koki atJCK sells a lot of lefty knives I believe though, so you could ask him for some quotes. For single-bevel knives, generally there is a 50% markup. Jon at Japanese Knife Imports has a few I think, as does Maxim at JNS. Depends on what you're after. I got a lefty 210 kamagata usuba a while ago and to be honest I never use it

30-50$ mark up depending on the seller / maker is about right.

Jon at JKI converts his righty knives for free if you buy from him, if you send him an email or give him a call he can give you some advice on what to get and stuff.

welcome fellow lefty!