Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: In the market for some high end knives! Need your thoughts!

In the market for some high end knives! Need your thoughts!

I am new to this forum and this is my first time posting. I am interested in purchasing some new kitchen knives and I would love your opinions on some top names. I found the following set of questions in another thread so I will start with that.

What type of knife(s) do you think you want?
    I am looking for 3 or 4 primary knives to use. I am not interested in buying a set of say a dozen knives. I would like either a chef's or santoku knife (although I will surely end up owning one of each), a paring knife, and one or two other knives that I am still undecided about (cleaver, honesuki, slicing knife, etc.)

Why is it being purchased? What, if anything, are you replacing?
    I was given a few Chicago Cutlery knives before I left for college. I recently graduated, and my father gave me money to buy a gift that will be special to me and last a long time. I decided that a few high quality knives was the way to go.

What do you like and dislike about these qualities of your knives already?
    Aesthetics- They are very plain. Aesthetics for the new knives is very important to me since it is a gift from my dad.
    Edge Quality/Retention- I am a novice when it comes to edge maintenance. So a quality edge would be ideal, although I obviously plan to learn how to maintain these knives.
    Ease of Use- I don't mind if the knives are not the easiest to use right away, I plan on using them for a long time and practicing my knife skills with them.

What kind of cutting motion do you use? Typically a rocking motion with my current chef's knife.

Where do you store them? I have a cheap knife roll that I will use at least for a while.

Have you ever oiled a handle? Nope.

What kind of cutting board(s) do you use? Wooden Boos block.