Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cutting a stone?

Cutting a stone?

I have to admit, I am not completely migrated to freehand sharpening. I have an Edge Pro - Pro and I get some pretty nice results with it. I would like to try some other stones on it and cutting them myself seem like an intriguing idea and challenge in and of itself. I'm thinking a decent tile saw that will cut wet. Soaking ahead for stones that are soakers. And then jumping in to see what happens. I anticipate some learning and I am prepared for that. Might end up with a handful of rock chips? Maybe nice 1x6 stones I can mount to blanks for use on the EP?

Would love to hear any thoughts on this process or even better if you have tried it what worked for you and what didn't?

Try a cheap one first.
    Starting this harvest I'm a starving startling artist/
    Lyrical arsonist it's arduous spitting this smartest arsenic/

Take the plunge - sell the edge pro and buy some stones with the proceeds. Hey - you can only f*ck up so long and it's never really that bad. At some point you start to get it right - then it's all down hill.

If you break any, I will buy some of the small pieces from you to use as finger-stones. I want to try some synthetic finger stones instead of sandpaper for polishing a blade.

You can do what that guy (ksskss/ken123) who cuts up EdgePro stones does and use a wet tile saw. You can rent the same thing from Home Depot....

http://www.homedepotrents.com/diyTools/tile_saw.asp

Here's some discussions he had with people when he was starting out and looking for info. Maybe this will help some...

http://www.contractortalk.com/f73/ri...in-cuts-64690/

http://www.contractortalk.com/f73/sl...ws-rpms-65939/

http://www.johnbridge.com/vbulletin/...ad.php?t=77120

Let us know how it goes.

Good info thanks Dave!

Mike9 - Thanks, I have taken the plunge but I still have my feet on both sides of the fence. There is still room for both worlds just yet.