New lefty looking for help on first Japanese knife

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cgul629

Reaction score
Hello KKF,

I have been doing some reading on the forums for the past few days in preparation for getting my first Japanese kitchen knife. I’m just a home cook with neither professional experience nor aspirations.

I see that Fujiwara FKM, CarboNext, Tojiro DP, and Suisin INOX seem to be the recommended options when someone is looking for a stainless/semi-stainless knife, at least in the price range I am looking. My question is, how do these recommendations change - if at all - if I am a lefty? I have seen some discussion about getting knives made for a lefty, as well as some saying to look for knives a 50/50 grind, and still others saying not to even worry about a 70/30 righty grind because I would adapt. I suppose there is probably some truth in each of those options, but I guess I am just looking for more input.

What type of knife(s) do you think you want?
I am looking for a Gyuto, probably 240mm. I’d like to get something that is stainless or semi-stainless as I don’t know that I am ready for full on carbon steel yet. I’m not opposed to trying a Wa handle, but I believe all the knives I have looked at are western handled

Why is it being purchased? What, if anything, are you replacing?The why is that I would like to begin my journey of learning about and using Japanese kitchen knives. My current primary knife is a Victorinox 8 inch chef’s knife which replaced the chef’s knife in a Farberware block set. I also have Victorinox paring and bread knives, and the rest of the junk from the Faberware set.

What do you like and dislike about these qualities of your knives already?
Aesthetics- Nothing I specifically like or dislike, I just like the aesthetics of many Japanese knives better