Many questions from a complete newbie

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sashephe

Reaction score
Hello everybody, I'm new to the world of knives and I have found myself in an interesting situation. I am a home cook, and originally jumped down this rabbit hole looking for a high quality chefs knife to replace my henckels international santoku. So after quite a bit of research I had decided on a sakai yusuke 240mm gyuto in white steel. I was about to order it when I was presented with what seemed like an irresistible deal.

I now have a masamoto kk 300mm yanagiba, and a what i believe to be a masamoto ks 180mm kamagata usuba en route to my home:D. My question for you all is this; should I keep these knives, and learn to use/sharpen them, or should I resell them, and use the profits to buy the gyuto I originally intended to purchase? should i do something that I haven't even considered yet?

Thanks for your help and input

P.S. Has anybody used the gesshin 1k/6k combo stone? if so, is it worth the money?

P.P.S. Does anybody know where I can find a inexpensive, but still decent end grain board?

as for the stone, i can only say the gesshin stones i have are rock solid performers, however, stones of that quality are not neccesary for a beginner, it is most important you develop good technique first. if you have $150 lying around to spend on a combo stone, go ahead, its probably one of the best, if not the best, you can get. but at this stage in the game, you could learn on something else and be fine for some time.