Quantcast
Where to Buy a Strop Kit?
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Where to Buy a Strop Kit?

Where to Buy a Strop Kit?

Hope this is the right forum for this... and that this info isn't already up here somewhere-- if it is, sorry, I couldn't find it! What are some good sites to buy a strop kit from? Don't want to buy one from... you know. (They're out anyway.) I'm too new to know the reasons for all the animosity but I can smell the bad business in the water, and I'd just rather give my $ to someone who seems more reputable. Maybe I'm making an unfair assumption- and maybe I don't care to find out if it's accurate or not either Suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I'm a beginner- never used one before- if that makes any difference as far as suggested products. Thanks in advance!!
    Restaurant Murphy's Law 101: If you have 5 and don't prep any, you'll sell 6. If you do prep some, you'll sell 4

http://www.kitchenknifeforums.com/sh...-or-Maple-base

I have also bought strops from Dave/JapaneseKnifeSharpening but it does not look like he is carrying them at the moment.
    "God sends meat and the devil sends cooks." - Thomas Deloney

Kramer has what looks like a nice strop set, but I've neither used nor seen it. Seems a pretty fair price.

https://store.kramerknives.com/product/stropping-block/
    one man gathers what another man spills...

Thanks guys!!
    Restaurant Murphy's Law 101: If you have 5 and don't prep any, you'll sell 6. If you do prep some, you'll sell 4

Marko also sells strops and diamond spray.
    http://www.tsourkanknives.com/index.php/store

I made three 16" long strops for the grand total of about $10. To be fair, I got the leather for free, and I already owned a can of contact cement.
    I'll post some pics this evening if anyone is interested.