Quantcast
New and I would love some advice
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New and I would love some advice

New and I would love some advice

Hello all I am new to the knife world as I stated before. I am currently in culinary school, and I just got a job at at fine dining restaurant in downton Charleston,SC. The knives have now are Mercer. I am looking to get a good Chef Knife in the 550 dollar or less range. I need something that I can use on plastic cutting boards because that is what we have at work and at school. Any help is welcomed. Thank in advance!!! Oh yea I would like something around the 8in range.

Greetings! Don't spend 550!
    one man gathers what another man spills...

haha okay thanks for the advice! I really dont want to spend that but I just wanted to put a top end on price.

Engorged Member
    The best investment you can make first is in a sharpening set up. You can spend a lot of money on a knife but whats the use if it's noticably dull after a couple of shifts. You can buy a great knife for a little more than $100 and be able to keep it sharp.
    "So you want to be a vegetarian? Hitler was a vegetarian and look at how he turned out."

I'll recommend Gengetsu & there is one for sale on S/B/T!!
    Charles ***[All statements I made here only my personal opinion and nothing more!]*** & Please bare with me for my crappy English!!

Stainless or carbon? Do you have stones to sharpen with? Di you like western or Japanese handles? Custom makers have best edge retention that I know of Mario and Marko. Regular knives misono is great all around knife with good retention.

I'd second not spending that much on your first knife. I'd say go 250-300 and get a decent stone or two. Jon at Japanese knife imports is a great vendor to work with top notch service!