Q's on Arkansas Stones.....

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zwiefel

Reaction score
A friend has asked me to help with sharpening his knives on his arkansas stones. I have no experience with these stones. Pretty much the same usage as Japanese synthetic waterstones?

I've heard that if they have been used with oil, you have to continue to use oil. True? Why would one want to use oil instead of water? seems like more chances for transfer to clothes/furniture/whatever.

TIA!
Z

I like water but I have heard that you can clean one that's been used with oil in the dishwasher...may want to wait to hear from someone who's done it before though. Seems to me that it takes more effort to use those stones, any reason not to use waterstones and just knock it out?

I like water but I have heard that you can clean one that's been used with oil in the dishwasher...may want to wait to hear from someone who's done it before though. Seems to me that it takes more effort to use those stones, any reason not to use waterstones and just knock it out?

He owns Arkansas Stones :)

oil stones, that's what I started with many,many,many years ago:biggrin:

For tips on removing oil from Arkansas refer the many advices from SRP.
http://straightrazorplace.com/hones/60184-degreasing-old-stone.html

In my experience, oil has better tactile feedback than water on Arkansas. It also prevents the swarf from penetrating the pores for longer period of time. But once it clogs up the pores, it's harder to get it out. The problem with something like black Arkie is that it's pretty hard to lap, since the stone is so damn hard.