Quantcast
In the market for honesuki
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: In the market for honesuki

In the market for honesuki

Want to get rid of my Shun boning knife and get a honesuki. Any suggestions??? I want something that will easily maneuver between bones and joints and trim up silver skin. Also take a nice steep edge.

I would go cheap, honesuki is not for everyone. I got a fairly nice one in my Quest for the perfect Boner and hated it. The current Perfect Boner is a carbon R. Murphy. This thing is cheap, takes a screaming edge, and just feels right in my hand. After some tip thinning I think the grail. But some people love their honesukisand I'm definitely glad I tried one out.

Budget? Carbon? Stainless?
    Starting this harvest I'm a starving startling artist/
    Lyrical arsonist it's arduous spitting this smartest arsenic/

I like my carbonext a lot.

Tojiro DP is the benchmark for honesuke IMHO. Inexpensive and just takes care of business. I used mine tonight to do a demo for a class on how to break down a chicken for grilling. Best bang for the buck honesuke on the market.

For stainless, I agree with miles.

For budget carbon, I like misono Swedish, although I've only used a workmate's a couple of times.

ThEoRy:
    My budget would be around $200 and I don't care if it's carbon or stainless.

Dardeau makes a fine point. It's only money but be careful not to pull a boner.

Wonder how many times that pun has been used.

You don't need two hundred for honesuke. A honesuke is a rough and tumble knife. It's not necessary to spend a fortune. Eighty and you have a Tojiro DP which will take care of business and keep taking care of business for a long time. I have a fondness for the Misono Swedish steel so if you want to go carbon, for $125 you can pick up a Misono Swedish honesuke from JCK and you"ll be in fine shape. I'm not sure I'd spend much beyond that, but everyone has to figure out their limits so...