Quantcast
Laser VS Workhorse
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Laser VS Workhorse

Laser VS Workhorse

Is there any task that a workhorse gyuto is able to perform, that would be difficult or impossible for a laser?

Jay

Jay, If I may, Could we also get some numbers/measurements around what people consider "workhorse" or "Laser" Gyuto?

Biggest thing I notice is that a thinner knife wedges a lot more in things like potatoes.
    On the flip side if I'm cutting something super hard like kabocha or butternut my thinner knives go through with much less resistance.

Thinner knives can not have as much of a convexed or "s" ground face since there isn't as much material to work with. This can create more stiction to the blade face especially on taller blades. Certain cuts "walking the board" make me cringe while using a laser as well.
    Starting this harvest I'm a starving startling artist/
    Lyrical arsonist it's arduous spitting this smartest arsenic/

Quote Originally Posted by TamanegiKin View Post
    Biggest thing I notice is that a thinner knife wedges a lot more in things like potatoes.
    On the flip side if I'm cutting something super hard like kabocha or butternut my thinner knives go through with much less resistance.
    thinner knives, by definition, can't "wedge" as much as thicker knives, and your second sentence contradicts your first. what you are describing is sticktion, which is typically greater for the reasons ThEoRy gave.

Quote Originally Posted by EdipisReks View Post
    thinner knives, by definition, can't "wedge" as much as thicker knives, and your second sentence contradicts your first. what you are describing is sticktion, which is typically greater for the reasons ThEoRy gave.
    That is exactly what I was attempting to describe, thanks.