How often do you sharpen your home gyuto

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

David88

Reaction score
I know this is such an open question but I'm trying to get an idea of how often I would have to sharpen a home use gyuto in various steels.

If you dont mind telling me what steel you have for your home cooking knife and how you maintain it e.g. weekly strop, monthly sharpen on stones etc.

Appreciate it.

Dave.

It really depends on too many factors (steel, type of edge, edge thickness, type of board, user skill, etc.) to just give a succinct answer but I'd say complete resharpening anywhere from once every couple of weeks to a few months. I maintain by taking a splash n go stone or a diamond plate and giving my edge a couple of swipes on it when necessary. Sometimes I use a 1 micron diamond loaded strop for touch ups.

I'm a home cook and I sharpen every two to three weeks. Like tk59 shared, there are a lot of variables. Here are some details that might help give you an idea of how often you'll need to or want to sharpen.

The knives I mostly use are a Kochi kurouchi gyuto, Shun classic santoku, and a CCK 1303 cleaver. I sharpen them using a King 1K, Gesshin 4K, and newspaper. Between sharpenings I'll refresh them on the newspaper strop. I cut on edge grain maple and cook almost every day.

I'm not obsessive but I like to keep them pretty sharp. I sharpen when stropping alone isn't working well. This, of course, depends on how much cutting they do and what they're cutting. The other major factor is how much my wife uses them.

My wife, who never cooked much, is now getting into it. She especially likes using our knives. She's getting more skilled with them but she's still kind of rough on the edges.