Choosing the right carbon santoku

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

boavista

Reaction score
Hello there !
I am new to the forum and decided to register after reading lots of top information and reviews.

I am a home cook, already enjoying an hiromoto AS Gyuto (small one, 21 cm), an Ichimonji TKC sujihiki (great!), a Fujiwara S/S nakiri (do not remind the line) and a Lion Sabatier Chef.
I would like to add a santoku as a general purpose knife that will be used often by my wife and from time to time by parents and friends on special cooking occasions.
I would opt for a knife that is easy to sharpen, keep its edge, does not chip.
I don't like much damascus knives or hammered ones.
Rust resistance is an important point since i won't be the only user of the knife: over reactive knives may be a problem.
Wa handles or western are either OK.
I would like to keep the budget under $ 130.
Also i would like to buy from JCK which is a vendor with cheap delivery to France ($7).

Among knives i am interested in:

- Mizuno Akitada Hontanren, White Steel #2, either in 16,5 or 18 cm (i do not know if it's cladded, i would prefer not)
- Misono Sweden (this one is reputed to be very reactive and requiring extra care)
- Hiromoto AS with S/S cladding
- Masamoto CT (but overpriced, even if i read good reviews)

Or should i pick a stainless from these ones ?
- Masamoto VG
- Hiromoto G3

Would you have experience with the above knives ? For exemple, is White Steel (in the Mizuno) as reactive as the Sweden in Misono knives ?
I would really appreciate your input and experience to pick the right knife.