Let's talk about plating rice...

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I made the topic broad enough because some rice dishes, such as risotto already come as such (i'll explain).

I am going to use curry as an example. I am somewhat new to them and only had them 4-5 times at 3 different restaurants. They are small local places but one all had one thing is common: they all served rice and topped off with curry.

Here is my problem with it: even if I mix it well, it's still just cooked dry rice and curry on top. No amount of mixing would develop the flavor in rice. I do quick curries at home, with a paste but I cook rice 1/2 way through, drain it and let it cook last 5 minutes in a pan mixed with curry. Not only I can control how thick/thin I want it to be, but I find that rice picks up much of the flavor from curry and I can control salt/spiciness with greater success.

I do similar things with your stewed meats I freeze... Is this the typical way it's done in authentic restaurants or at home is curry on top/rice bottom looks better and provides nice contrast?

Earlier today, I was in a rush and I think it could use slightly more moisture. Flavor was spot own, hints of spicy in the back, hints of tamarind in the beginning and nice mellow flavor

MDiVfeC.jpg

it is usually not mixed because, some people like there rice drier, some more wet and some like to control the amount of flavor in the rice. I have days were I like it all mixed together and other days when I like a little unflavored rice for a flavor break.

it is usually not mixed because, some people like there rice drier, some more wet and some like to control the amount of flavor in the rice. I have days were I like it all mixed together and other days when I like a little unflavored rice for a flavor break.