Marko's custom order diamond plates 1200, 8000, strop and base

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cookinstuff

Reaction score
I received Marko's base with his custom ordered size plates in the 1200, and 8000 grit along with his strop, spray and base. Everything is incredibly polished and professional looking. I will start by saying I'm a pro cook, I work anywhere from 60-90 hrs a week, I hate sharpening. Not that I hate sharpening, but more, I don't have time for it. I had been interested in something like this for awhile. Marko suggested trying these plates out, as they cut fast.

So, I set out to sharpen some knives with my new toys, because I like to play with new toys regardless of if they are stones or knives. First I grabbed my mom's old Henckels slicer that she uses for everything. I heard you have to work these in a little bit, so I decided better her knife than mine :angel2:, regardless it sharpened up in a little under 6 minutes. More or less the 1200 will produce a burr incredibly quick, it is very even and smooth feeling, I really like how this plate feels. I have left a couple of my knives at 1200 to see how it works out in the kitchen, and it's a very workable edge after stropping, no resistance on tomatoes or peppers, red chiles, some of the usual suspects. This plate seems to want to raise a burr after a pass or two with knives that aren't seriously dull.