One Knife to Rule Them All

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SuperM

Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm sure a similar topic has found its way on the board in the past but I have to ask this question?; If you could only have one knife in your kit what would it be and why? An all around workhorse or something lighter, custom or no? Pictures if at all possible would be awesome as well :)

Only one knife? Sort of a silly question, but I'll play. Keep in mind I don't do this for a living, I'm just a plain old home cook.

L. R. Harner 8" line knife. Why? It can do it all. (And look good while doing it.)

Only one knife? Sort of a silly question, but I'll play. Keep in mind I don't do this for a living, I'm just a plain old home cook.

L. R. Harner 8" line knife. Why? It can do it all. (And look good while doing it.)

Can't wait till i get mine from Lefty... Butch's work is awesome.

I couldn't possibly decide between what i own, have used, or want... I have too many favorites to choose just 1.

Kato (you just missed one that was on the bst thread for almost two weeks and sold yesterday).

Or

Takeda 240.

Both sharpen easy, more so the Takeda.
Both are great lookers.
Both are amazing cutters.
Either can be had for under $500. The Takeda is often found under $300.

There must be loads of good candidates, most of which will be gyuto unless you like chukabocho. Of the few I've tried, it's an obvious rec but I'd second the fellow above on the Kato.

Fujiyama gyuto.

I've yet to use a single knife that excels at every single task as well, and is as nicely finished...

NoChop!'s High Grade Carter gyuto. Or a Bloodroot Blades gyuto. But out of the kit that I currently have it would be my rehandled Yoshikane Kasumi 250mm.

Only one?

Chinese cleaver. Not sure whether I'd pick Hattori FH, DT ITK, or Shige. Probably the DT.