Think I'm developing a new passion... But need help!

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Philtandir

Reaction score
Hi,

I’m a passionate home cook from Quebec City, Canada, and I just joined the forum because i’m looking for a good japanese chef knife in the Gyuto 240mm format. Currently, the knife I use for most of my cutting is a Global G3, and although I like it, I’m looking to upgrade for something bigger (longer and especially wider) that can be sharpened to a much more laser edge. For handle, I prefer a WA but it really is not a deal breaker either way. Don’t really know for balance or blade shape. I use mostly a pinch grip, rocking or slicing motions. Although I feel I’m not yet very good at it, I really like to sharpen on whetstones and am also looking to upgrade my skill. I can easily see sharpening becoming a passion, and for that reason would like a blade I can learn on and will not “outgrow” too fast in terms of sharpening potential, if that makes any sense. Maybe something with harder steel would be better in that sense?

For now, I mostly do my sharpening on a 240/1000 combo Global whetstone, and in addition to the knife, I’m also looking to buy some higher grit stones, as well as a ceramic honing rod. In the last week, I spend an inordinate amount of time reading on various internet forums about what to buy and where, and in the end, I’ve decided it would be better for me to invest a little less on the knife than I originally thought, and more on the sharpening kit. What’s the point in having an incredible blade if I can’t bring it to full potential?