Recommendations for a 240/270mm Gyuto + 300mm yanagi

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

speedyhead

Reaction score
First post, please be gentle.
I'm not a knife enthusiast by any stretch. I have 2 decent (not total crap) 6"-7" chef's knives (Victronix and another one, I forget the brand) that I've been using for the past 5 years for every type of cooking. I sharpen them often and once a year I send them to be professionally sharpened. That's the kind of cook I've been so far and I've been happy.
Lately I've had more free time to cook so I've been getting into making sushi and other fish dishes and a few weeks ago I was cooking at a friend's house which had a sashimi knife and I really like the quality of my cuts using a proper sushi knife. And so, I've decided to take the plunge into Japanese kitchen knives, and also finally upgrade my chef's knife.
So, with that in mind, I'm looking for a good value entry level traditional Gyuto 240mm/270mm and 300mm yanagi. I'm not really familiar with materials but I am looking for something that requires minimal maintenance (I expect it would still require more careful maintenance than my Victronix, but nothing that is too demanding). Since I don't know whether I prefer carbon or stainless steel then I prefer to buy the 2 knives made from different materials to compare and see which I prefer best.
I don't have a set budget but I prefer to not spend too much on my first knives. Along the lines of $500-$600 for both knives feels right.

From reading some posts on these forums I've seen some recommendations for MAC knives on the big manufacturer's side, as well as Masamoto and Wanatabe. But they all have many series and materials that I'm not sure which are the right ones to chose.