Quantcast
A completely new set
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: A completely new set

A completely new set

I am a home cook, and I really enjoy cooking and baking. I have been using a set of Saber knives from Costco to tie me over. I thought that it might take a year or two. However, it has taken me a little over six years of pinching and saving to get to my current budget. In any event, I have about $2300 cash to spend on everything. I can go as high as $3000, but it has to be for good reason. In any event, I have composed a list of knives and accessories that I believe is a good start. I currently have no experience sharpening my own knives, but I am excited to learn and try. The main reason why I am writing this is because I am having a hard time identifying what chef’s knife that I should purchase and other knives that I might need. I do not have a preference for carbon or stainless, and I am aware of their pros and cons. I appreciate any advice and thank you so appreciably for your input.

Gyuto ???
    Misono moly Bread Knife
    Gesshin Ginga 180mm Stainless Petty
    Ginga Chinese cleaver #6
    Pierre Rodrigue fork
    Water Stones
    Boardsmith 2" x 18" x 24" Walnut cutting board

That's an enviable budget and more than enough to get a awesome setup. Enjoy the hunt, plenty of knowledge worth listening to on here!

Wow. Dude I'm a pro (not a good one yet), but man what I could do with that budget. I suppose if I added up everything I had I could be in that price range, but it was never all at once. You have an opportunity to buil a great setup, keep asking questions is my advice.

get a gyuto in the 400-500 range. so then you can feel comfortable giving it a flogging and sharpening it a lot.

A few questions which might help with narrowing it down

Are you prepared to wait a year + for a custom knife?

Would you consider buying used from the BST?

Will you be the only one using the knives ?