Need a beginner jknife

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chef Andy

Reaction score
So I got a gift card from knifewear for christmas (I work as a cook in ottawa) so I will be buying a knife from their store in ottawa. Kinda limits what I can get, but I'm not looking to get a super amazing knife anyways. This will be my first foray into jknives, so I'm hoping I can learn a lot about it. I want to get a knife and some sharpening supplies too.

KNIFE TYPE
What type of knife are you interested in (e.g., chef’s knife, slicer, boning knife, utility knife, bread knife, paring knife, cleaver)? gyuto

Are you right or left handed? right

Are you interested in a Western handle (e.g., classic Wusthof handle) or Japanese handle? Western

What length of knife (blade) are you interested in (in inches or millimeters)? 210-250mm

Do you require a stainless knife? (Yes or no) Yes

What is your absolute maximum budget for your knife? my total budget for this first buy is 250

KNIFE USE
Do you primarily intend to use this knife at home or a professional environment? Both, but I'm sure it will get more use at work.

What are the main tasks you primarily intend to use the knife for (e.g., slicing vegetables, chopping vegetables, mincing vegetables, slicing meats, cutting down poultry, breaking poultry bones, filleting fish, trimming meats, etc.)? (Please identify as many tasks as you would like.) slicing and trimming meats and slicing/chopping/mincing veggies.

What knife, if any, are you replacing? n/a, this is the first time i'll be getting a knife where I will be looking after it myself.

Do you have a particular grip that you primarily use? (Please click on this LINK for the common types of grips.) pinch