Yoshikane SKD ?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DJDINO

Reaction score
Hi all, have been trawling through the forum for a few days, dangerous place :loll: I am a home cook, have sharpening experience on stones and glass with my chisels and planes being a builder/carpenter not sure how much this will help though, have ordered a King 1000/6000 stone.

I have narrowed my search to 2 knives, both different, I like the Yoshikane SKD 240mm gyuto, I prefer the non hammer finish but cannot find these at Epicurean Edge etc ? the other knife that looks to fit the bill is the Akifusa 240 Gyuto, although I don't love the handle. A dark hexagonal handle http://www.epicedge.com/shopexd.asp?id=84648 on a SKD would be my idea of a great knife.

Welcome to the forum.

I have a Yoshikane SKD kasumi that has been rehandled and I love it. Very sharp, great edge retention, low stiction.

I've messed around with a skd hammer finish and it's a great knife. I just bought a skd Kasumi that's re handled and I can't wait to get my paws on it.

My SKD kasumi Gyuto is one of my favorites. Not an expensive knife, but at 210mm its a 1st choice for quick and dirty jobs. Can't speak to the Akifusa.

Have you tried contacting EE or A Frames about availability of kasumi finish? I'm not a fan of the hammer finish either but I've not seen one in person.

Most of the choice Yoshikane on A-Frames are out .He does have a 270mm V2 steel still in stock beautiful knife.

My SKD from Rakuten took 2 months to arrive and i didn't save that much. They have V2 versions there too but communication was quite painful and you have to make sure you are buying right item. Don't bother asking the seller any question , I havent had any replies for my numerous e-mails. For the peace of mind I would order from EE