Do you raise a new burr with your polishing stones?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mangelwurzel

Reaction score
Hi folks,

I'm still quite new to sharpening and this is probably a total NOOB question but I've been searching the forum and can't find a definitive answer.

I sharpen with 1200 and 6000 grit stones. I've been deburring between grits and raising a new burr with each stone. I've found that sometimes using the 6000 grit actually makes the edge worse. I think I may well be rounding the edge produced from my 1200 stone and this is most likely because I'm applying too much pressure.

My feeling is that I shouldn't be trying to raise a fresh burr with the 6000 grit. Instead I should be deburring as much as possible with the 1200 then only using the 6000 to refine the edge and remove all traces of burr by gently stropping with it.

Does this sound right? Or is it better to raise a new burr with each stone in the progression?

Thanks in advance!

I think that sounds right.
You only need to create burr once (usually with coarse stone). Creating burr is basically creating new edge and you don't want to recreate new edge on each stone.

Hi folks,

I'm still quite new to sharpening and this is probably a total NOOB question but I've been searching the forum and can't find a definitive answer.

I sharpen with 1200 and 6000 grit stones. I've been deburring between grits and raising a new burr with each stone. I've found that sometimes using the 6000 grit actually makes the edge worse. I think I may well be rounding the edge produced from my 1200 stone and this is most likely because I'm applying too much pressure.