Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Tojiro 170 mm western Deba

Tojiro 170 mm western Deba

Has anyone used this smaller western Deba knife and where can you get one? I want to use the knife for heavy work, like splitting lobster tails.
    The only place that I have found online for this size is Chubo, and they ship from Japan. I have no experience with them and welcome any feedback or suggestions.
    I would like a smaller western Deba for shellfish like lobster, and smaller freshwater fish. I would prefer to spend no more than perhaps $130-140, and want a good stainless for this. I would be willing to consider alternatives, especially if the steel is clad in stainless.

For $130 you can just get a 240mm tojiro yodeba. For a bit less you can just get the 210mm.
    Starting this harvest I'm a starving startling artist/
    Lyrical arsonist it's arduous spitting this smartest arsenic/

i have a 240 as well. its great, if you have a use for it.

That size seems on the jumbo size for, say, splitting a whole lobster or a lobster tail. What do you use a 240 deba for? I have been scouring this website, and most recommendations are for smaller ones, unless you are working with big saltwater fish. How has yours done for you?

Amazing video. I have never been able to deal with lobster or chicken that fast. What would the food gods say about using a Deba to break down a chicken...was that a deba or a heavy chef's knife?

Thanks. It's the tojiro DP 240mm yodeba(western) double bevel, basically a really thick and heavy chef knife. About 5.5mm at the spine.

I ordered the Tojiro 210 western deba. I figured that even if a little longer than I need, the weight is like that of a single bevel deba. I hope it holds up to heavy cutting.

Quote Originally Posted by Arty View Post
    I ordered the Tojiro 210 western deba. I figured that even if a little longer than I need, the weight is like that of a single bevel deba. I hope it holds up to heavy cutting.