Finally ready to buy... Suggestions

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fergie

Reaction score
Hi All,

So the time has come. I've been bouncing around different forums and websites for probably 6 months as I finished my kitchen and am ready to drop $$ on new knives.
My last purchase "way" back was Global forged. Back then if you googled you got 4 choices. Global ,Henkels, Shun, Wusthof.
Holy crap how things have changed !! So ill get right to it
Below are the basics of what I want.
I will be buying 3 knives Gyuto/Santoku/petty.. but for this purpose I'm only looking at the 240 Gyuto as the others can most likely follow suit within the brand...off we go

1. Are you right handed? - right
2. What type of knife are you interested in?.. gyuto
3. What size knife are you looking for? 240 mm
4. Do you prefer carbon or stainless steel? - Stainless ONLY (carbonext??)
5. Do you prefer a western handle or a Japanese handle? Black Western ONLY
6. How much did you want to spend? - I don't have a restrictive budget so whatever fits "best perf/price ratio"
7. Do you know how to sharpen? - semi..no worries

Here is what I've seen so far in different price categories that seem to fit what I'm looking for.

LOW RANGE:
Tojiro DP
JKC KG-7
Fujiwara

MID
JKC carbo next
Togiharu INOX KORIN
Misono Moly

HIGHER
Masamoto VG
Kikuichi TKC
Sakai Takayuki Grand Chef

Im sure there's tons more and im open to any feedback.. so THANKS !

I can recommend the Masamoto VG series: laser like lightweight blade which is relatively easy to sharpen.

this is the 3rd flat out recommendation from 2 forums for this masamoto knife.
so far, tied with Kikuichi TKC

Hi All,

So the time has come. I've been bouncing around different forums and websites for probably 6 months as I finished my kitchen and am ready to drop $$ on new knives.