Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gyutuo Recommendation

Gyutuo Recommendation

Hi,

I am a culinary student and I am looking to buy a new chefs knife and was wondering if I could get a recommendation. I currently own the Korin Inox gyutou which I am quite fond of, but it is too long for me (240mm) and I lose the edge on it quickly - but that may be due to how much I use it. I am looking to buy a 210mm knife, around the weight range of the Korin gyutou (if anything I would consider lighter knives), which is under $250 (preferably under $200). I realize it's silly - but I prefer knives with unique handles (anything other than the standard black), but that is not a necessity by any means.

Thanks!

western or traditional wa?

What makes you think your current 240mm is too long?

Korin's Inox knives are western handled. I'm also curious about 240mm being too long. Perhaps add a petty to your kit? In terms of weight similar to Korin's Inox, but interesting handle have a look at their Masanobu line. Not for everyone, but certainly different.

It's not like the 240mm is outrageously long - I just feel like I can work a lot quicker when I'm using a 210mm knife. I have a petty knife that I've barely used and I'm actually looking to get rid of it, my hands are way too big for it! I am looking for a western style knife.

There's a sticky at the top of this forum "Which knife should I buy?" you need to fill out.

KNIFE TYPE
    What type of knife are you interested in (e.g., chef’s knife, slicer, boning knife, utility knife, bread knife, paring knife, cleaver)?
    Chefs Knife

Are you right or left handed?
    Right

Are you interested in a Western handle (e.g., classic Wusthof handle) or Japanese handle?
    Western

What length of knife (blade) are you interested in (in inches or millimeters)?
    210mm

Do you require a stainless knife? (Yes or no)
    No

What is your absolute maximum budget for your knife?

$250

KNIFE USE