Deburring issue

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PuercoLibre

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am another new guy with a question about a Watanabe 150mm petty I've had for a couple months.
I cannot get this thing to hold an edge to save my life. I took a picture with lots of glare to try to show what's happening, but I can't figure out how to include it here. Maybe my "posting images" skills are related to my deburring skills :biggrin: I can get the knife pretty sharp, but the edge just buckles even after one light use

About me and my skills: I am a professional carpenter/woodworker with lots of experience sharpening blue/white steel Jp tools. I have a pretty decent selection of stones and feel like I know them pretty well. Knives aren't totally new to me, but I've probably only been sharpening for 2-3 years. I get good results that last on my other knives (a Yoshikane 180 Gyuto and two kind of generic wa-handled knives from Japan Woodworker http://www.japanwoodworker.com/product/ ... agata.aspx) so I'm a little curious about the fact that I'm having such issues with just this one. It seriously looks like I've used it to chop sand on a granite counter, which I have not.

Also... although I'm pretty sure this is a burr/wire edge issue, I also can't say I've been totally impressed by this knife overall. The fit and finish was kind of rough, the grind was pretty bad (see pic--it took me like 2 hours to flatten out the high/low spots enough to sharpen) and I had to pay extra to upgrade from a plastic ferrule, which brought the price up to around $200. I feel like maybe I could have done better.

OK, I'll try to wrap it up. I have tried EVERYTHING to deburr this blade after sharpening: edge trailing strokes on each stone, stropping, gentle slicing through cork, soft wood, felt block, you name it. Any suggestions?