All new to high-end knives - Which set should I get?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jbonnette

Reaction score
Hi All, I am new to high-end knives. I visited a local Sur La Table with a friend and talked to one of the guys there that showed us the higher end knives that they sell. This was my first experience with high-end knives and it opened my eyes to a world that I didn't even know existed. Yeah, I know that sounds corny. Anyways, my friend ended up buying the Miyabi Artisan 7 piece set. While doing some further research, I found this forum. I'm looking to buy a set of knives for use in my home kitchen. I'm looking to spend 800-1200$. Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance :)
Joel

US

KNIFE TYPE
What type of knife are you interested in (e.g., chef’s knife, slicer, boning knife, utility knife, bread knife, paring knife, cleaver)?
Pretty much a whole set. Not sure that I have a need for a bread knife or cleaver though.

Are you right or left handed?
Left handed

Are you interested in a Western handle (e.g., classic Wusthof handle) or Japanese handle?
Japanese

What length of knife (blade) are you interested in (in inches or millimeters)?
Looking for recommendations on this.

Do you require a stainless knife? (Yes or no)
Yes

What is your absolute maximum budget for your knife?
1200$

KNIFE USE
Do you primarily intend to use this knife at home or a professional environment?
Home

What are the main tasks you primarily intend to use the knife for (e.g., slicing vegetables, chopping vegetables, mincing vegetables, slicing meats, cutting down poultry, breaking poultry bones, filleting fish, trimming meats, etc.)? (Please identify as many tasks as you would like.)
Really interested in a set that accomplishes all of these tasks

What knife, if any, are you replacing?
Nothing