Quantcast
General sharpening questions
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: General sharpening questions

General sharpening questions

The only knives in my kitchen that get sharpened are a couple of inexpensive commercial (WalMart) chef's knives. One is a Santoku stainless and the other is a 9 inch or so KitchenAid. I keep them sharp with a hand held Chef's Choice diamond hone that has both 15 and 20 degree "slots".

I will sooner or later upgrade to a new knife, probably a Japanese blade like a Konosuke gyuto that I would make the handle for (I'm a decent woodworker). Persuing that is why I joined here.

So my question is, is the diamond hone that I'm using OK for a Japanese knife? I'm a home cook not a pro, and knives tend to stay sharp enough for quite a while.

TIA
    Last edited by Maylar; 05-23-2014 at 05:00 PM. Reason: spelling

Diamond hone is too aggressive for a Konosuke. The steel is hard. I would use only decent water stones on that knife. Maybe practice sharpening on your inexpensive knives before moving up to a Japanese gyuto. Good luck.

You have yet to sharpen those knives. Honing just realigns the edge.
    Starting this harvest I'm a starving startling artist/
    Lyrical arsonist it's arduous spitting this smartest arsenic/

It's been said before - abrasion is abrasion. There's plenty of stuff out there shaped like a hone that sharpens. And you can only "realign" an edge so many times before it breaks off and the knife is dull forever until sharpened, correct? So if the knives are sharp, then something is obviously working.

If you don't feel like messing with a waterstone, then try it in your setup on the 15* section. Worst thing that can happen is it doesn't work, and you have to buy stones. Nothing mystical about this stuff. It's just metal.
    If you sweat the small stuff, it doesn't turn into big stuff. - Me