About Se Ecglast "The Sword's Edge"

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The Edge

Reaction score
Hey guys and gals, I wanted to share a little about myself and a little about the business I just started!

Se Ecglast is from Old English meaning "The Sword's Edge"

I founded the company earlier this year from my passion for cooking and kitchen knives. I've been cooking since I was 7 years old, when my parents put me on a step stool and handed me a knife. That first dish I learned how to cook was chilli, and it helped me learn about different spices, and developing flavor. I have spent some time in a professional kitchen, and while it wasn't for me, I still hold a deep passion for food, and love to cook for friends and family. Most of what I cook today depends on my mood, and what vegetables I can get fresh and in season. I've found a good kitchen knife to be invaluable when preparing a meal. Not only does it lend to preserving the integrity of the food I'm preparing, it also makes things easier and more enjoyable. The more I dive down this rabbit hole of handcrafted artisan knives, the more I'm inspired by the dedication and passion each of these guys/gals has.

I will eventually start making my own knives, but in the mean time, I look forward to sharing with you truly fascinating pieces from makers that have taken the time to do things right. There is so much knowledge and detail that goes into the making of just a single knife, that it is overwhelming at points. Spending time, just talking with a knife maker, you can easily fill a notebook on what to do. Yet, that knowledge usually doesn't even touch the deep well of research they have spent years upon years of cultivating. I feel proud to be a part of this community, and look forward to what is to come.

Thank you for sharing an interest and taking the time to read!

Taylor Edgerton