Long Term Knife Storage

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PinkBunny

Reaction score
Sorry for this newbie question. And sorry for making it so long. I was wondering how to properly store a good set of knives long term, if you only intend to use them on special occasions?

I am a home cook, and have always used Wüsthof. I have wanted to try some Japanese style knives. I got a Shun Classic chef's knife, and I like how well it cuts. Well, yesterday I was in Williams Sonoma and saw that the Shun Bob Kramer Meiji set was 1/2 off. I understand that a mainstream brand like Shun is not going to be as great as a small craft shop Japanese knife, however, these were beautiful knives, reproductions of Bob Kramer originals. In fact, a bit too good looking to use, except on very special occasions.

So, I planned to store them(sorry for how long-winded this post is). I was going to get a metal toolbox, line it with foam, sheath the knives in cardboard and pack them in more foam, and add a silica gel packet or two to keep moisture out. Then I saw this post(I hope linking is alright):
http://www.bladeforums.com/forums/s...ife-Storage-and-Display?p=2146315#post2146315

This gentleman posts three posts in a row, all of which were worrisome, and it got me thinking:

1. In sheathing knives, would I not be able to use paper or cardboard, as they are made with acid? Would a plastic sheath like Lamson release gases over time? Is it better to use a magnetic felt sheath, or use vellum paper as a sheath instead, for long-term storage?

2. As foam releases gases, marring the blade, is it better to use museum grade felt, or would foam in this case still be alright? Should I instead try to line the box with something like latex or rubber?