Shellfish allergies in the sushi bar

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cschoedler

Reaction score
I just wanted a few other opinions on a situation I ran into the other night.
I've been a sushi chef in the same restaurant for around 5 years now. Just like any restaurant we deal with all kinds of allergies on a nightly basis. Earlier this week we had a group of ladies order a few rolls but advise the server one of the ladies has a SEVERE shellfish allergy. She explained even the smallest trace of anything that's ever been in contact with any shellfish would be enough to send her immediately to the hospital. She wanted us to change out our aprons/boards/knives/anything else that would be near her food.

I've never had an issue accommodating an allergy in the past. I've also never had anyone stress exactly how allergic they are to trace amounts as this women. She came to the bar to explain how serious and "deathly" allergic she was to my head chef and I. I was peeling 2lbs of shrimp as she was talking to us.

We told her the level of sterilization she was asking from us was impossible. We told her we normally do everything in our power to accommodate but this situation was too risky. We told her even if we cleaned every tool and plate her food would touch we still couldn't guarantee there was no cross contamination somewhere along the line and we wouldn't want her to risk that.
She lost it. She couldn't believe we "were too lazy" to sanitize the entire kitchen for her rolls. She threatened us with bad yelp reviews and stormed off.