Which is more fun...?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mangelwurzel

Reaction score
Hi Folks,

I've just got a new job and to celebrate I thought I'd treat myself to a new knife (how else does one celebrate?!).

I'm thinking of either a deba or a nakiri. Which one will I have more fun with??

I'm leaning towards a nakiri as I'm a home cook and don't breakdown that much fish in comparison with the amount of veggies I go through. But I do really like cooking with fish (I currently have a flexible Wusthof filleting knife). I'm also thinking with a deba, it would be my first single bevel knife which I guess is a plus for learning new stuff but a minus as the idea of single bevel sharpening is scary!

All suggestions welcome :)

I vote for whatever WillC has up for sale :D Between the two knives, I would go for the nakiri. But if you really want a single-bevel, consider going for a usuba instead of a deba; you'll probably get a bit more use out of it.

I vote for whatever WillC has up for sale :D Between the two knives, I would go for the nakiri. But if you really want a single-bevel, consider going for a usuba instead of a deba; you'll probably get a bit more use out of it.

a usuba, is kind of like a cross of a Deba and Nakiri no?

IIRC, a Nakuru is a double-bevel version of the usuba. However, the kamagata style usuba is more common and the Kanto style seems nearly universal.

I would go with Nakiri. Love using it. Chop chop chop.
I have deba, but the use is so minimal in my case so it's kinda of forgotten :(

No.

The Deba and Usaba are all about technique. The Japanese Knife Society vids on JKI's site shows them in use.

A Nakiri is a fun veg knife. I enjoy using one at home but I usually just want to use one knife for meal prep and use a gyuto.