Anybody been to Northern Italy?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tbott

Reaction score
Hey KKF folks!

My girlfriend and I are touring around Europe at present. We rented a van through some family in Poland, and are cruising around following any whim we choose. Mostly we're guerilla camping, cooking our own food on a coleman stove, trying to do things on the cheap. However, we're destined to be in Northern Italy in a few weeks. I wanted to be there for the October harvest/truffle season to see what's what. So, I was wondering if anybody has any specific advice on products to check out/places to eat.

I'm a cook myself, so I'm not exactly ignorant on products from the various northern regions. But, as a cook, I'm pretty freaking broke. We saved up for three years to go on this four month trip, which means we have some cash on hand, but we can't just run around and make it rain. I've checked out other places for advice like Chowhound, which is helpful, but seems to be the forum for "foodies," laypeople who've never worked in a kitchen in their lives, yet whose primary hobby is talking critically, and often disparagingly, about the food others have sweat and bled to prepare.

So, I come to you. I like you people (what do you mean, "YOU" people?!). And I think some of you out there can help. I would like to focus on Piedmont and Emiglia Romana. We have transportation, obviously, so no town is out of reach. We will often be sleeping on the side of some road, unshowered, and we neglected to bring any kind of dress clothes, so while putting on our fancy pants is not out of the question, let's just say it can't be our modus operandi. We might try to WWOOF in the area, for the sake of having a more permanent place to stay. We may also be couchsurfing. Unknown.