Some information on Tanaka Knives

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AllanP

Reaction score
I am really new to this, and I've been browsing random websites.

I saw this demascus Tanaka Santokou blue #2 for 78 dollars and thought it is really cheap.

what makes a knife the price that it is, I mean I thought good carbon steel knives for at least above 150 dollars.

Are Tanaka knives are good buy. I am just looking for a first carbon steel knife, and this seems to be a really affordable option

Tanaka knives are a good buy for the price the cheaper ones have resin bolsters instead of Horn. You can do a little TLC like rounding sharp edges on spine & choil.

Very good knives, but fit and finish can be a little rough. Nothing some time with some sandpaper can't take care of. All of the ones I've bought from metalmaster have had buffalo horn ferrules

I love Tanaka knives but you have to understand what you are getting. Amongst his own brand there are a few tiers. The blue steel damascus is some great steel with nice grinds and some rough spots. Spine, choil, handle. All can be fixed easily enough especially at $78. Great buy!

Though there's quite a bit of choice in our household here, the Tanaka santokus still see a lot of use. My wife in particular likes to use them... along with a Shigefusa. She doesn't care that there's a difference in price and all the technical stuff we like to get in to. She just uses what she likes to use. I enjoy using them too - I never feel like "damn, why am I using this thing rather than something else?"

The Tanaka damascus line of knives is not perfect, of course, but very nice to use and more than worth the price you pay for them.

I have a 240 blue 2 damascus and love it.
I have many more knives, most more expensive, some quite more expensive.
The Tanaka is among my favorites.

I'll second all of that! +1